I spent pretty much all of yesterday in bed. I felt fine lying down, but being vertical was a problem. Today I feel much better, but still not 100%. We were going to have the first Alvin dive today, but the weather did not allow that. I think its because the swells were too large. It turns out many of the seasoned crew were feeling it too. I don’t know why I assumed that a bigger ship would be easier in terms of sea sickness – it certainly feels like it is rocking more than I remember the Westward going. Oh well. Today we did some plumbing to set our systems in the van. We are almost at the point where all we need is samples to get started. That is pretty exciting. Hopefully we will do some bottom water sampling from the ship today so that we can begin get our experimental setups running.

