Octavian gets some exercise while Kiana and I clean out the isotope van.  Thankfully, Charles was keeping and eye on him.  I have a feeling he really wants to take a swim.

A beautiful Juan de Fuca Ridge sulfide!

This is what all the fuss is about.  These rocks can be pretty spectacular, if I do say so myself (and I do)!  Minerals and microbes… woot woot!

Samples awaiting transport back to Cambridge for more experiments

It looks like a bizarre canning session, but not as tasty.  We have about 90 of these jars ready to be shipped back home.  I hope the communities survive until we can run more experiments.

I haven’t only been dealing with sulfides out here.  These vent tubeworms are pretty neat too.  Many of them survive the trip up to the surface, which is pretty amazing considering the changes in pressure.  Getting them out of their tubes is pretty interesting.  The easiest way is actually to blow on one end like a straw… yummy!

